Prescribing Medical Cannabis

Physicians who specialize in the field of examining, diagnosing and treating epilepsy may qualify to prescribe low- THC cannabis under the Texas Compassionate Use Program by registering with the Texas Department of Public Safety’s Compassionate Use Registry Portal.

Qualifying physicians must be certified in epilepsy or neurology by the American Board of Neurophysiology or the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology; or be otherwise qualified to examine and diagnose epilepsy.

You can find a list of information for physicians below.

RESOURCE: Texas CBD Today: Details on CBD research, Texas regulations, dosing guidelines, an inside look at Compassionate Cultivation and product information.

Learn more

Guide for Prescribers: The Texas Compassionate Use Program

Learn more

How to Register for the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) and Add Treatment Plans

Learn more

Dr. Karen Keough Walks Physicians Through the Medical
Cannabis Registration Process

Learn more

See Compassionate Cultivation’s CBD Products

Learn more

CBD Dosing Guidelines PDF

View the PDF

CBD Dosing Recommendations and Guidelines for Treatment of Intractable Epilepsy

Learn more

Patient Results: Patient Response to CBD Oil

View the PDF

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I become approved to prescribe medical cannabis?

Instructions on how to become approved and registered can be found here.

What are potential side effects associated with CBD oil?

Side effects reported in studies published by American Herbal Pharmacopeia indicate potential fatigue and gastrointestinal issues, but mostly associated with very high dosing. Typically CBD products are diluted in food oils (like our product) and ingesting large amounts can result in gastrointestinal related issues.

How much CBD and THC is allowed in Texas for cannabis based medicine?

Our selected CBD-rich cultivars are converted into cannabis oil that contains less than 0.5 percent THC and at least 10 percent CBD in finished product, adhering to guidelines set out under the Compassionate Use Act.

How long will each bottle of CBD based medicine last? How many doses does each bottle contain?

This depends on the prescribed/recommended dose. The concentration of our line of tinctures is 10% CBD, meaning there is 100 mg CBD per mL of tincture. There are three sizes, 7.5 mL, 15 mL and 30 mL.  If the prescribed dose regimen is 20 mg/day, the 7.5 mL bottle will last approximately 37 days. If the dose is 100 mg /day, the 7.5 mL size will last 7 days. Learn more about dosing guidelines.

How will patients measure out medication?

The bottle and box will state the concentration of CBD per mL. Using the 1 mL syringe provided with the product, patients can determine how much to measure out per dose. For instance, to get 50 mg of CBD from a 100 mg CBD /mL tincture, measure out 0.5 mL. For 10 mg, measure out 0.1 mL.

Why use this medication rather than the hemp based CBD products at over the counter stores?

Our medication is of the highest quality possible, starting from cultivation and ending in a child- resistant and tamper evident packaged bottle. The final product is quality tested for pesticides, heavy metals, microbial activity, chemicals and the potency of CBD and THC in the product. In Compassionate Cultivation’s commitment to transparency, test results are publicly available. You can be assured the medicine is consistent and of high purity. Everything is traced and easily tracked to the plant it came from. Hemp based products are unregulated, rarely lot traceable and could be contaminated with heavy metals, pesticides or chemicals.

In the CURT registry, who is considered a legal guardian for minor or incapacitated patients?

Any adult that is approved to accept and administer a patient’s medicine can be listed in the CURT registry. This can be parents, nurse caregivers, siblings etc.  Anyone who will potentially be accepting medicine for each patient MUST be listed in the CURT and be able to show a photo ID at time of pick-up or delivery.

Is there a limit on the amount of CBD medicine that can be prescribed at a time?

There is no limit on how much oil can be prescribed at one time. Patients can choose to pick up monthly or pick up several months worth at a time, there is no expiration date on prescriptions.  For example: If a patient is taking 100 mg/day then a prescriber can write the amount for 9000 mg which will last the patient 3 months if there is no titration.  The patient can pick up as many bottles as they chose until the 9000 mg is fulfilled.  We are able to fill up to the full amount, after which, the prescriber must enter a refill into the CURT.  There is no limit to how many refills a prescriber can add.

Does Compassionate Cultivation receive an alert when there is an active prescription?

Currently, there is no alert system for dispensaries when a prescription goes active.  The patient or the prescriber’s office MUST contact our dispensary to verify and fill a prescription at 512.467.4118 or thru a secured email.

Can patients travel with this medicine?

IN STATE: When traveling within Texas, always keep your prescription information handy, along with the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) verification phone number (833-244-6702) located on the patient insert and bottle label. Our medicine is treated as a Schedule I substance and prescription verification may be necessary.

OUTSIDE OF TEXAS AND U.S.: It’s important to remember that cannabis-based medicine is a federally illegal substance.* While it’s unlikely you will be questioned, there is no official guidance from the Texas Department of Public Safety on this subject and it is unknown how it would be handled out-of-state.

*This applies to air travel, border patrol and shipping via postal service, as these are federally regulated entities.

Contact Us

Never miss an important story: Get updates on CBD developments, physician news and fresh blogs sent straight to your inbox.

Get in touch!

0